The Chronicles

Home » General » New game plan: you’ll find a way

New game plan: you’ll find a way

The next post will be a brief report of my road from 3.0 Billion ISK to more than 20.0 Billion ISK. It took me less than 24 days to get there. If that piques your interest, you may want to read this post. In it, among other things you will find the game plan behind my trip.

Now, if you have read this you know that after the two months of my solo pvp attempts, October and November, I had to come to terms with the fact that without a versatile pvp character I could have more fun mining than continuing to do what I was doing. I had to stop and put on the shelf my hopes and dreams of bringing destruction to my fellow Eve nerds. It was at the end of the first week of December when I have finally chosen the path to follow next. It has three branches: pvp, trading, and social. Let us see them in detail.

cropped-find-a-way.jpg

Eve game plan

Part one: pvp

This one is the shortest since it involves waiting, waiting and waiting for the pvp frigate character to finish the training:

  • all the relevant skills in engineering, navigation, armor, shields, rigging, turrets, missiles, drones, electronics to level four(some of them to level five) ;
  • at least all the racial tech one frigates skills to level five;
  • overloading and combat booster skills to decent levels.

Once I finish training, the plan is to make two home bases in two distinct faction warfare areas and set up jump clones for quick travel and safe training. As a solo pilot, there is no shortage of fights: everybody will try to kill you. In faction warfare areas, homeland of what some call “the lol frigates pvp’ers”, a character capable of flying well at least all the tech one racial frigates it is not limited by the target selection. As such, from a fun/hour perspective, the time spent hunting is worthy of the trouble.

[All of the above are things one could have easily thought and put in motion right from the start.  I am usually a patient person, maybe too patient at times. Why I jumped right away in solo pvp it remains a mystery. ]

Great, we finally have a pvp plan.  It has only one minor problem: it’s boring like hell. Hmm, more I think about that, in comparison to staring at a window tab for months and doing nothing, I suspect purgatory to be a much funnier place. After all, some are saying it is a lot of dying and burning involved in being there, very much the same as it is in Eve. Wow, did I just say I like hell? Burn the heretic… Anyway, coming back to Earth, or Eve … whatever, what should I do while my pvp activity it’s on hold? What other fun activities the Eve universe has to offer?

Part two: trading

You got it: trading. If one would have to make a top of the most humdrum things to do in Eve, based on the general perception of the Eve players, it seems to me that trading would be in the top three choices. “Well, yeah … because it is boring, boring and boring!” you may say. In part, I have to agree, but just in part. I started to divide trading operations based on the available capital to trade in the following categories:

  • micro trading – up to 10 Billion: “I hate all the guys bellow me, they are all bots and no lifers for sure. And the bitch calling herself Carla is actually a fat, ugly, unemployed moron, so you know it!” Joe screeches while updating a market order.
  • small trading – 10 to 100 Billion: “Yeah, I made it. I don’t have to 0.01 ISK anymore. I’m so proud of myself! Honey, does this red dress go with the new shoes?” Carla tells her husband.
  • medium trading – 100 to 1000 Billion: “I’m rich beyond my wildest dream. Should I hire a secretary or should I start to donate some of my ISK?” Paul is asking himself.
  • large trading – over 1000Billion: “This is the big league dear … what was your name again? Excuse me a moment please!” David says to the EN24 reporter while he starts to shout at his secretary “Diana, get John from CFC on the phone. The imbeciles have attacked the wrong system again!”

By no means are the imaginary traders above an exhaustive representation of all the traders in a given category. However, I bet my ISK on the fact that the perception of the Eve players on trading has its roots in the large-scale contact with the micro traders. Being a micro trader is no fun at all. I feel much obliged to agree with this. In fact, I’ve been one myself and I don’t want to go back.

Before I lay down a plan for my trading activity, I need a goal, preferably a funny one. If you have read this, you know that trying new and challenging things it is my definition of having fun. To me, getting into the big league of traders it sounds like a challenge. Therefore, I have now a target. I have no idea  how to get there, so baby steps will have to do it. Fortunately, I already took the first step: I’m in the small trader’s world now. The next step is to get into the position of an established businessperson who has a secretary taking his Eve business calls [*]. However, I don’t have a time limit set. Most probably, it will take me a few months to take the second step, which is more than fine because I still see Eve as a game, no need to get more serious than it is the case. Moreover, it is precisely for this reason that I have to set up a time efficient trading business.

It’s not hard to figure it out that we can break down all trading activities, no matter the nature of a trade, into a cycle: the research, the transaction and the analysis. These three areas can and will often overlap but, in general, a trade operation will consist of many such cycles forming a complex process and understanding the dynamical structure of it is a vital part of developing strategies that make trading time efficient.

Thanks to the market-data provided by the Eve-EMDR project via the established market-data websites, custom-made tools and/or established tools can cut the time needed to do the research and the analysis for a trading business to ridiculously low levels. In order to take full advantage of this I took the time needed to change my previous tool into a more flexible trade instrument. In the above image gallery, you can see in more detail what it can do now.

Every transaction has three distinct parts: the buyer, the seller and the item. To make a profit, one needs at least two transactions: buy low, sell high. The buy orders market for the items worth trading it is a lot more competitive than the sell orders market. The reason for this is the simple fact that without an item to sell there is no transaction at all and, therefore, everyone is there trying to get their hands on some items to resell. However, assuming that one has the means to acquire the items to resell without touching the buy orders market, he can greatly increase the time efficiency of his trading activity. There is various ways to do this. From these, the most used are the inter hub and inter regional trading due to the low requirements to enter them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The path I have chosen for now is the inter hub trading combined with low activity station trading. I’m doing this with the help of three accounts on which I have six trader characters in various stages of training and deployment. For more details, you can see the slide show above. I don’t intend to get more accounts. As the capital will increase, my biggest challenge will be to optimize the trading process. Anyway, enough on the trading part for now. We’ll have plenty of opportunities to talk about it.

Part three: social

Now, it is a good time to explain why I keep insisting of not joining a corporation yet. It is not because I don’t like the social part of the game. In September, I tried to join a corporation exactly for the social aspect. The result of that attempt determined me to go on a different road. I have to admit that, at that time, I made my decision out of stubbornness and pride. Now it’s an informed carefully thought choice.

Most people find Eve to be a hard game. I don’t find it hard. Maybe I don’t find it so because I like to learn new things. I can agree that Eve is a harsh game. If you are doing something dumb then someone will be eager to punish you for it.  However, once you understand the Eve game mechanics and you have decent skilled characters I dare to say that Eve is an “easy” game. Moreover, once you get into a good corporation Eve becomes even “easier”.  My point is this: staying solo for now is my way of playing Eve with “hard” settings turned on. I will eventually join a corporation, but for now neither I, neither any corporation, would have something to gain from it.

Final thoughts – blog plan

The plan for this blog is that this time I don’t have a “real” plan for it. I will try to post things on topics that I find interesting and we’ll see how that goes. Until next time, have fun.

Signed out, Ritual Union.

Post Video: Santogold – You’ll Find A Way

2 Comments

  1. T'ango A'lee says:

    Ritual – two things:
    First – Awesome blog – I am greatly enjoying it! I am very impressed with your self-awareness that you need goals in order to derive enjoyment.

    Second – Your custom tool looks f-ing awesome, I was looking to start creating one myself (or leveraging an existing). Is the code available to the public or do I need to start from scratch? Would you be willing share it with me or at least expound on the general structure?

    Regards!

    T’ango A’lee

    • Ritual Union says:

      The “tool” is not open to the public. The point of presenting it was/is to give the Eve readers a push in the “right” direction: coding (which might be useful outside the world of Eve too). All you need to do something similar is basic knowledge of html, css, JavaScript and data tables. The main advantage of having an own custom tool is that it will work exactly the way you want it to work. It means that it is worth the time one has to invest to build one, at least in my opinion.

      I might expand in the future on it but I don’t want to make promises I’m not sure I can keep. One thing I will do for sure in a future post is to discuss in detail the “m ind” column, its role etc.

Comments are closed.